What benefits could spouses and children of veterans be eligible for?
VA Caregiver Program Federal VA Link
County Veterans Assistance Fund List of Offices
County aid for indigent families of deceased veterans who have resided in Washington state for at least one year may be available. Contact your County officials for eligibility information.
Preference for public employment is given to surviving spouses of honorably discharged wartime veterans, and spouses of honorably discharged veterans with a permanent and total service-connected disability.
Dependency and Indemnity Compensation (DIC)
When a veteran dies of service-related causes – or was continuously rated totally disabled for at least 10 years preceding death, or five years from date of discharge – benefits may be paid to a surviving spouse, dependent or low-income parents.
Dependents must be:
- Less than 18 years of age,
- Not yet 23 years of age if attending a VA-approved school; or
- Disabled before age 18.
Based on the veteran’s length and degree of service-related disability, or other qualifying factors for service members, educational benefits may be available to dependents and spouses who have not remarried.
Dependents must be between the ages of 18 and 26 to receive education benefits, though extensions may be granted.
Spina Bifida Allowance
Dependents of Vietnam veterans who suffer from Spina Bifida are eligible for vocational training, health care and a monthly allowance based on degree of disability.
Home Loan Guarantees Federal VA link
Spouses who have not remarried may qualify for a VA loan guarantee if they were married to:
- A veteran;
- A service member who died of service-related disabilities;
- A service member who died while on active duty; or
- A service member who has been listed as MIA or a POW for more than 90 days.
Surviving spouses who have not remarried – as well as unmarried dependents of deceased veterans – may receive pension benefits if:
- The veteran served more than 90 days in active duty military service;
- Served at least one day during a period of wartime; and
- Received any discharge other than dishonorable.
Burial Benefits Federal VA link
Benefits include the gravesite, headstone or marker, opening and closing of the grave and perpetual care.
The federal VA may pay reimbursement of a portion of the veteran’s funeral and burial expenses, as well as provide headstones and markers for the unmarked graves of veterans anywhere. Eligible spouses and dependents may also qualify for headstones and markers in national, state veteran or military post cemeteries.
Qualifying veterans, service members, spouses and dependents may be eligible for burial in a VA National Cemetery.
The Federal VA provides headstones and markers for the unmarked graves of veterans anywhere, and for eligible spouses and children of veterans interred in national, state veteran or military post cemeteries.
A Summary Washington State’s Education Benefits for Dependents of 100% Disabled Veterans or those who died as a result of military service.
State Laws pertaining to the Benefits listed below
- The State Legislature requires state community colleges, colleges and universities to waive all undergraduate tuition and fees for eligible dependents of eligible veteran or national guard member up to 200 quarter credits or equivalent semester credits.
- Waivers for graduate credits are encouraged but not required.
- Fees include all assessments for costs incurred as a condition to a student's full participation in coursework and related activities at an institution of higher education.
- Eligible veteran or national guard member is the same as defined in the previous section.
- Eligible dependents are:
- A child must be a Washington domiciliary between the age of seventeen and twenty-six to be eligible for the tuition waiver. A child's marital status does not affect eligibility.
- A surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner must be a Washington domiciliary.
- A surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner has ten years from the date of the death, total disability, or federal determination of prisoner of war or missing in action status of the eligible veteran or national guard member to receive benefits under the waiver. Upon remarriage or registration in a subsequent domestic partnership, the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner is ineligible for the waiver of all tuition and fees.
- If a death results from total disability, the surviving spouse has ten years from the date of death in which to receive benefits under the waiver.
Soldier and Family Assistance
for Fort Lewis