WASHINGTON TO

Supports: Department of



#### **HOW ARMED FORCES LICENSE PLATE FUNDS ARE USED**

Proceeds from the sale of Armed Forces License Plates support ongoing maintenance of the State Veterans Cemetery in Medical Lake.

\$28 from the purchase and renewal of each plate is directed to the Veterans Stewardship Account and is tax deductible. The Veterans Stewardship Account is used for activities that benefit Veterans, such as maintaining the State Veterans Cemetery in eastern Washington and providing programs and services for Veterans without homes.

Veterans, active duty, guard, reserve and their family members are eligible to purchase plates at any vehicle licensing office. See RCW 46.18.210 on the Washington State Legislature site for more information.

#### Find out more at: www.dva.wa.gov or call 800-562-2308



WASHINGTON Air Force Supports: <u>Department of</u> Veterana Affaira





WASHINGTON FORMER

WASHINGTON

Pearl Harbor

Survivor

HARBOR SMPI

PRISONER

SMPI

Former Prisoner of



Army

leterens Affe



Supports, Department

Veterans Attairs



WASHINGTON





To learn more visit: www.dva.wa.gov/program/ license-plates











"Serving Those Who Served"

# 800-562-2308 WWW.DVA.WA.GOV

### FREE DISABLED VETERAN LICENSE PLATE

Available to Veterans who:

(a) Have lost the use of both hands or one foot;

(b) Have become blind in both eyes as the result of military service; or

(c) Are rated by the Veterans Administration or the military service from which the Veteran was discharged and receiving service-connected compensation at the one hundred percent rate that is expected to exist for more than one year.

Application: www.dol.wa.gov/forms/420500.pdf

#### VETERAN/MILITARY SERVICE Award emblems

Availlable to the legal or registered owner of the vehicle.

Take your application, proof of eligibility (such as DD214) and fee to a vehicle licensing office:

 Veteran/Military Service Award Emblem Application

www.dol.wa.gov/forms/420075.pdf

• \$18 cash or a check/money order payable to Department of Licensing

# **OTHER SPECIAL MILITARY PLATES**

- PURPLE HEART
- FORMER POW
- MEDAL OF HONOR
- PEARL HARBOR SURVIVOR
- MILITARY AFFILIATE RADIO SYSTEM

#### **GOLD STAR LICENSE PLATES**

Gold Star Parents, Spouses, Children, and Siblings may qualify for a Gold Star License Plate under RCW 46.18.245. These plates honor families of military men and women who lost their lives in service to our Country.

To qualify for Gold Star license plates, you must be certified by the Department of Veterans Affairs as being one of the following to a United States Armed Forces member who died while in the service, or as a result of their service:

- Widow or widower (If the servicemember died as a result of their service)
- Birth mother or birth father
- Stepmother or stepfather
- Mother or father through adoption
- Adult who fulfilled the parental role, such as foster parent, kinship care provider, or caretaker relative.
- Biological child
- Adopted child
- Sibling

### FEES

Widows(ers), parents, and step parents do not pay any registration or plate fees for one Gold Star License Plate or regular license plate.

For all other individuals eligible for Gold Star License Plates, there is no additional fee for the Gold Star background design, but you must still pay all required vehicle registration and tab renewal fees.

Application: www.dol.wa.gov/forms/420500.pdf dol.wa.gov/vehicleregistration/spgoldstar.html

# **ARMED FORCES PLATES**

#### MILITARY, VETERANS, AND FAMILY MEMBERS!

The Washington Department of Licensing issues license plates to eligible Veterans/military/ family members with six separate designs, each containing a symbol representing a different branch of the armed forces to include Army, Marine Corps, Navy, Air Force, Coast Guard, and WA National Guard.

Visit dol.wa.gov/vehicleregistration/spmilitary. html for information on initial and renewal plate fees. \$28 from the purchase and renewal of each plate is used to operate the State Veterans Cemetery and serve Veterans without homes.

You are eligible to purchase a plate at any Vehicle Licensing Office if you ...

- Served at any time in the U.S.Military
- Are currently on active duty
- Served in the Guard or Reserves
- Currently in the Guard or Reserves
- Are a Family Member of those listed above.

For more information about eligibility requirements, please refer to *RCW 46.18.210* on the Washington State Legislature site.

Application: www.dol.wa.gov/forms/420500.pdf



# WWW.DOL.WA.GOV/VEHICLEREGISTRATION/SPECIALDESIGN.HTML#MILITARY