Lourdes E. 'Alfie' Alvarado-Ramos

Lourdes E. 'Alfie' Alvarado-Ramos photo
Women Veterans Advisory Committee Member

Alfie Alvarado serves as the Director of YOUR Washington State Department of Veterans Affairs. The Department is the statewide advocate for our veterans’ earned benefits and services. Alfie was born in Puerto Rico and served 22 years on active duty retiring as the Command Sergeant Major of Madigan Army Medical Center and Troop Command, Joint Base Lewis McChord.

As Director, she is a member of Governor Jay Inslee’s Executive Cabinet and chairs the Washington State Military Transition Council. In this capacity, her agency leads statewide efforts for the seamless transition of service members and their families to Washington State’s communities. She is a member of the Governor’s Results Washington Design Team which addresses the effective delivery of state services to Washingtonians.

Alfie is the recipient of the Army Legion of Merit Medal and Military Order of Medical Merit and state and national awards that include the Governor’s Distinguished Management Leadership Award and the Department of Veterans Affairs Secretary’s Leadership Award. She is currently serving as the President of the National Association of State Directors of Veterans Affairs.

Branch of Service
US Army
Dates of Service
Committee Position/Title
Boards of directors of the Patrick Madigan Foundation, National Association of State Veterans Homes, National Association of State Directors of Veterans Affairs and the Association of Washington Generals.
Lifetime Accomplishments
An advocate for the benefits and services veterans and their families earned.
BS in Health Administration
Major Events In Life
Becoming the first ever woman Director of WA State Department of Veterans Affairs
Current Employment
Department of Veterans Affairs
Personal Statement Regarding Serving On the Committee
Connecting Veterans and their families with the benefits they earned
Major Achievements On the Committee
Key individual in the formulation of the Women Veterans Advisory Committee